My New Classic Maple (w/all roundover edges) Came In Today!

codydee12

Reaction score
So I ordered this Ludwig a few weeks ago on Oct. 7. I wanted a smaller maple kit that with a (IMO) timeless finish. I had all the bearing edges cut to be round overs. I honestly could not be happier with the final product!

I have seen some other folks on here asking about the round overs since ludwig started offering that beginning of this year. I did a quick take just to capture the sound straight out of the box. more to come later after I have time to get to know her.

The short take hyper link - I am still learning how to capture sounds well/mix. I only added an eq to the main bus clear up the sound since I am own the lower end of mic quality.

The Specs:
Classic Maple in Sable Black with Roundover bearing edges
20x12 kick
12x8 tom (no rack mount)
14x13 floor tom (with the Triad bracket)

Photo Dec 03, 4 41 12 AM.jpg
Photo Dec 03, 4 42 13 AM.jpg
Photo Dec 03, 4 43 39 AM.jpg
Photo Dec 03, 4 44 19 AM.jpg

Last edited:

LRod1707

DFO Master
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Beautiful kit! Mine has the standard bearing edges (new model as well) but I've been curious to know the difference in sound. I'm gonna compare your recording to mine.

2000dan2000

DFO Veteran
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Oh yeah! dig it... my CM's are on the shipping truck from Ludwig as I type. How do those roundovers sound in comparison to the 45's (if you've played both)?

codydee12

Reaction score
Very cool. I didn't realize they offered edge options...or such a shallow bass drum.
Apparently the edges are a new thing to this year. Not sure how long they have offered the different depths on kicks. I have never owned a 12 inch depth but Love it so far! I have a 22x16 and a 24x14. I can really feel/hear a difference. the 12 is a good bit shorter of a sustain.

codydee12

Reaction score