header.nohb.html

Need advise for storing and protecting my drum kit

AnnBehr

Reaction score
I am new to drumming, still learning with a long way to go, and a few months ago I bought my first drum kit. It's been kept in the basement because that's the coolest area in the house and it's not exposed to straight on sunlight, but, unbeknownst to me, it turns out that there's a high amount of moisture in the basement. Obviously I want to take really good care of my drums, but I didn't give it too much thought until just last night when I was cleaning my kit and I noticed what I believe to be a bubble or warp (are those the correct terms?) in the wrap. So now I've got some questions that I hope can be answered by you guys, especially those more experienced than me. I have been doing research about warping but I would really appreciate your guy's opinions.

First off: I've read a lot of people talking about how heat affects drums but my problem isn't heat (I took that into consideration when I first got the kit) it's moisture. so I'm wondering how badly, like, in a worse case scenario, can moisture harm my drums? I'm assuming that how long it takes to do major damage depends on the kit itself. I've also read one or two things about the drums drying out after soaking up too much moisture? I don't know if that applies to only a certain type of drum, and maybe I didn't get that. But if it does, then I do understand that, in my case, the biggest problem I would have is re-tuning and that in itself isn't a problem at all.

I'm thinking about maybe relocating my kit and the only possible places are in the garage or my room. The garage is a no due to lack of space and idk about my room cuz I kinda doubt I could maintain a stable temperature, that and I haven't even checked how much moisture is up here.