need help dating a gretsch round badge

PPF

Reaction score
I recently purchased a gretsch round badge progressive jazz on reverb from a new york drum shop. Obviously it was stripped a while back as there are no original natural round badge around. and was refinished in natural stain, really great looking + no extra holes!
the seller told me that the toms are from the late 60s and bass drum from 1970. Price was at 1150 for the set so I figured I always wanted to own one, let's buy this beauty :)

yesterday it arrived and bam, first surprise: no grey interior (except for the floor tom, which was repainted short time ago and still had that smell), no paper tags..
I'm not a gretsch expert at all, so my question: is this even a gretsch? :D if so, can you estimate when it's from?

thanks for your help,

Peter

Attachments

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
Looks like it could be a Good Player and Heads should go On well
everything- from what I can tell by the pics- until you get them assembled and displayed--and the story is clear on the inside of the bass--- looks right

(put em together and take some shots from some distance)

Reactions: PPF

PPF

Reaction score
that was the original add

I just put on new heads - they fit nicely! and it sounds killing <3

any thoughts on wether or not to remove the mufflers? it's a lot of metal..

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
All hardware looks Gretsch. Looks like a sweet kit! My 50's RB 5.5x14 3 ply natural mahogany snare has similar ply makeup and no grey inside. I wonder if the FT is later? When you say repainted, do you think it was grey and they re-did it, or just painted it grey for that "great" sound?

For the price, that's an amazing deal shipped for a vintage 12/14/20! And I'd love to have a natural wood kit like that - especially since any head will fit with no issues! Unfortunately, I have not been able to come across just shells to strip (or that are stripped) and finish......great score, man!