header.nohb.html

Need Some Help Identifying A Vintage Gretsch Set

ImaMan

Reaction score
Hi ya'll, I received a vintage Gretsch set for free from someone who wanted me to throw it away for them. Evidently it was their dad's and they were trying to throw it out. At first I didn't realize what it was because I'm not a drummer and it was petty gross, but I later looked into it and found a little info, but I'm still unsure of what exactly it is from what time period.

I'm currently restoring this kit since I have some experience in that department. I have all the hardware, but have taken it off the drums to clean the shells.

There is a 20" bass drum, a 12" and 16" tom, and a 14" snare.

Here are some pics.

20220718_111705.jpg

20220718_213931.jpg
20220718_215406.jpg
20220718_215529.jpg
20220718_215259.jpg
20220718_215312.jpg
20220718_215317.jpg
20220718_215354.jpg

The snare drum is the only one without a sticker on it (looks like it was ripped off at some point). Sorry if the image formatting is poor, I'm on mobile. Any help will be much appreciated!

Attachments

• 20220718_214032.jpg
    20220718_214032.jpg
    34.7 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
81965, 93483, - 1967
27121- 1964

looks maybe a Rock And Roll Outfit

see 66 catalog at www.vintagedrumguide.com

Is there a top Mount bracket (hole) on the bass drum? for a post?

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
that's original walnut finish that's pretty nice
- another distinction to note is: round head or hex head screws to hold lugs on.
Round/flat screwdriver head are the earlier mid 67 on back; Hex head the mid 67 to 68 on out.
Be careful with those
~
Need/Like to see Bass drum top where (what type of) tom attachment might have been

ImaMan

Reaction score
that's original walnut finish that's pretty nice
- another distinction to note is: round head or hex head screws to hold lugs on.