New, beginner and have some questions.

Darrin85

Reaction score
Hello,

I’m new to the world of drumming and I’m not sure if I want to be serious or not. I originally set out to be a double bassist but found that it was hard because I couldn’t find a comfortable standing/sitting position with the instrument.

I was looking into playing drums. Ive been shown a few simple beats in the past and took the instrument much quicker/easier than the double bass.

I wanted to see if I could be serious about drums and seeing if I like it. I’ve been watching some YouTube videos about rudiments. I bought a pair of Vic firth 8d’s and, you’re going to laugh, a basketball to practice on. Someone said it was pretty good to learn with a basketball because it was round and could be more accurate than a drum pad? I’m learning, that might’ve been a mistake. Lol

I love jazz and want to play jazz. I thought that I should learn traditional grip like people like Gene Krupa (my favorite drummer), max roach and elvin Jones. After trying it from watching a few YouTube videos I realized that might’ve been a mistake because now my pinky hurts on my right hand (I’m left handed) like pretty bad.

I would love to get a teacher but with COVID-19, being furloughed from my job and not even sure if I’m really a drummer I’m a little hesitant. Is there anything that you would suggest I can do now? Should I scrap the trad grip for now?

Right now I don’t have any equipment. No drum set, snare or even a proper drum pad. Just a pair of sticks and a basketball. Lol

Thanks so much!

Old Dog

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Learning something new, is always going to lead to some pain. I'm sure your grip is probably more clenched than need be. But, as a beginner you have to get the feel of things.