New/used kit advise: Keystone vs 3 ply Butcher Block

sass

Reaction score
Newbie here.

After a 10 year hiatus I have been wrangled back in to drumming by my old band and must admit I can't figure out why it took me so long to pick up the sticks again!

Looking for opinions on 2 completely different kits that I am eyeing up purchasing (both in excellent condition). I will start by saying I have read alot about each of the models through various posts etc and feel either would be good choices. Would love to hear comments from those who have played both. $$ noted below are in Canadian...USD would be 35% cheaper.

Kit option # 1): 2013 Ludwig Keystone with apple glass finish. 12/16/22. Comes with single braced snare stand, hi hat stand, 2 cymbal stands, bass drum pedal. $975. For and extra $150 he will throw in the cases and a 15 year old PDP 805 snare. The kit is in show room condition.

My current opinion: Great value, the finish would look great in a gig setting. Not sure I love the Atlas Mounts....they are pretty big. Would I get sick of the finish over time?

Kit option #2): 1970's Ludwig 3 ply Butcher Block. 13/16/22. Excellent condition, matching serial #s, no extra holes, original tom mount holder on bass drum. Shells only $1,000.

My current opinion: LOVE the Butcher Block look. Classic time era for Ludwig. Better investment long term for resale? A little nervous about unknown history of such an old kit etc...Are there problems that I may not see right away etc.

This will be a second kit for me (so I dont have to tear down my home kit all the time when playing gigs. My other kit is a locally made maple shell set up by Wells Custom Drums)

I realize it is hard to compare one against each other but if you had to choose just one what would it be (assuming condition etc are excellent for each)?

Thanks all in advance for your constructive opinions.

Cheers, Sass

Mcjnic

DFO Veteran
Reaction score