Newish drummer advice.

M

Mongoose

So I recently got back into playing drums. I've owned a few cheap kits over the last 20 years (2 pulse kits and a no-namer from ebay). I never really took it too serious and just learned basic double bass grooves and a few snazzy fills. December 2019 I came to the realization that I'm not getting any younger and need to start being more active; so I had to decide between a Total Gym or something else. Long story short I bought a Yamaha stage custom birch shell pack and over the last year I've built it into a monster. Despite having a huge kit and lots of cymbals to smash I feel like I should be making better use of my time other than just getting a sweat from 30 minutes a day on my kit. I've been a guitarist since I was 13 and would love to write a record "one man band" songs (it's wonderful not having creative differences with band mates). What advice would someone give to someone who's just trying to get better at writing and playing drum parts to go with guitar; that also don't sound "stock". I listen to a lot of metal and experimental music like Euzen. So far I can play about 4 Euzen songs and 2 Gunship songs(with drums I made up). I'm not trying to be a drumming God or anything, I just want quality beats behind all of my experience with guitar.

dtk

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
might i suggest...first work on parts that go with your guitar parts be they stock or not...and then figure out what's stock about them and change them.

I guess what I'm saying is go for being a good musician first...than work on being a good drummer...(what ever that might mean to you)

M

Mongoose

might i suggest...first work on parts that go with your guitar parts be they stock or not...and then figure out what's stock about them and change them.

I guess what I'm saying is go for being a good musician first...than work on being a good drummer...(what ever that might mean to you)