OT-My state of mind (surprisingly good?)

dtk

DFO Star
Reaction score
I've been biking w/some intent since 2014....I aim for 1K a year and recently as it warmed up challenged myself to do 50 a week because I can do it and remain social distant...and feeling like I control something right now feels good.

Last night...9 miles from home I felt my left cheek slipping lower than my right as I biked up a steep hill. I found a flat place to stop..and it turns out one of the support rods snapped.

Somehow...this didn't bum me out.

I googled the best way home.
I was able to ride, slower, with all my weight on my right cheek.
I could have been much further away (I biked 50 miles last Saturday)...or in the middle of nowhere with an issue that would have made it harder to bring the bike home
I think a new seat could improve my biking experience
I figured the old seat had at least 400 hours of sitting time on it and the bike (a Trek 7300) is at least 10 years old
I thought I'd buy a replacement from a bike shop I'm getting fond of...help support them (Plan B is Amazon and DIY...).

I figure this was my reaction because...I've done bikepacking (starting at age 50) and its taught me I'm much more resilient than I thought....I've been thru worse (in my head anyway).
I've been in touch with my 3 kids during the last week and feel like I'm providing them the support and the love I think they need right now....again...more resilient than I thought.

hang in there guys and gals...

Last edited:

Mcjnic

DFO Master
Reaction score
Awesome!
I love it when a person crosses that line and takes control of thier thought proccesses. It is a very liberating moment.
It sounds like you are in a MUCH better place. That will serve you well.

Here's a VERY general statement ... obvious exceptions ... about "state of mind"