OT: Taping Two Boxes Together To Ship?

avedisschwinn

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I am shipping a keyboard and an X-stand to a friend. The x stand box will fit neatly on the "face" of the keyboard box. Will FedEx permit two flat boxes taped neatly and securely together? Thanks, John

Rock Salad

Very well Known Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
If they won't you could wrap the whole deal in brown paper maybe

RobbiefromAtlanta

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
FedEx will but please be sure to tape that mutha up. Also make sure you pack it to where nothing moves. Put the address on both boxes just in case they come apart. If you feel comfortable after that then do it.

cashmanbashman

Very well Known Member
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I work in the shipping industry and they will accept just about anything. Tape it up to the point of over kill because it will be tossed around and have lots of stuff stacked on top of it. Pad it well on all sides because claims are rarely paid even if they abuse the package. Do not write fragile on the box and especially don’t put asap or it will become a target.

NewBeat

Reaction score
If they won't you could wrap the whole deal in brown paper maybe
Nope, FedEx will absolutely not accept a wrapped package - they say it mucks up their sorting machinery. However, my local post office will still accept wrapped packages.

deegeebee

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
...claims are rarely paid even if they abuse the package. Do not write fragile on the box...
Truth? For me fagile stickers have been standard on fragile packages and I mostly pay for the coverage without much thought. Am I doing it wrong?

thin shell

DFO Master
Reaction score
Why tape them together? You can ship more than one box on the same shipment. Cost savings?

cashmanbashman

Very well Known Member
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score