Piece of equipment that's stuck with you

tillerva

Forum Guru...yeh right :p
Reaction score
Was tearing some drums down last night and realized something interesting. I've been playing for 30 years and have had numerous kits, cymbals, etc, but one piece of equipment has been constant since high school-my Pearl hihat clutch! This thing holds like no other, sadly though the bottom plastic locking nut is starting to go. Such a random find, I'd never even thought about it.

Do you have some random gear that's stuck around thick and thin?

cochlea

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
One of the few accessories that I have kept from my early days of drumming (1960s) is the hex wrench that came with my Gretsch Progressive Jazz kit. I still use it today for the sole purpose of tightening the rail consolette hex nuts on my vintage Ludwig kit. I works better than anything else I've tried, providing plenty of leverage without the fear of it stripping the nut.

Fat Drummer

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I think thats cool Tillerva, after almost 50 years of playing I dont think I have a single thing from days gone by.

Last edited:

Gunnellett

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I have a set of Zildjian New Beats my mom bought for me 34 years ago. They were for my first pair of nice cymbals and were my prized possession. My mom saved up for quite a while to be able to buy them. I will never part with them other than to leave them for one of our children.

singleordoubleheads

DFO Veteran
Reaction score