Recommended Ride Cymbal for Small Jazz Kit?

zendrums

Reaction score
Hello Community,

I am a new drummer and am looking to learn jazz drumming. I am in the process of piecing together a small kit. I have a 5"x12" snare and 7"x18" bass (TAMA Club-Jam Mini) and just picked up used Sabian HHX 13" Groove Hi-Hats.

I am looking for recommendations for a ride cymbal. Since my drums are small and my hi-hats are small, I was leaning toward a 20" or 21" ride rather than a 22"--I was thinking the 20" or 21" ride might match the volume of the smaller drums and hi-hats.

With jazz in mind, would a Sabian HHX Groove 21" Ride be a good fit? I was reading up that some consider it to be more suitable for funk than jazz. I am also considering a Sabian HHX Legacy 20" Ride. I am trying to spend ~$175 which will likely be hard to find.

deegeebee

Reaction score
I'd go back to the well where you got the groove hats and pick up that 20" HH light ride in the sales forum for $125 SHIPPED! I can't believe that that is a thing. Beautiful cymbal, smoking deal, crash it, ride it, take your time and master it before buying another cymbal.

Edit: Important to note that you don't need the perfect cymbal to learn jazz. Infact, one of the things to learn is how to get useful sounds out of a cymbal. So I wonder if at this point it isn't counter productive to spend hours listening to cymbal sample videos to try and find the perfect sound. Grab something you know is decent and get to work practicing!

Last edited:

lrod1707

DFO Master
Reaction score