Regarding snare issue.

Chinmay147

Reaction score
Hello everybody. My friend tried to tune my snare fat. So he tightened the resonant head super tightly and followed some dude's instructions on YouTube for the batter head. Few days passed and my place gets dusty, thus same guy told me that he'd open up the snare to clean it from inside. Whilst opening both the heads two tension rods each from too and bottom came out really tight,with some thread wear on both. I didn't understand as I'm new to drumming and this guy teaches me. Afterwards he assembled the snare and now it sounds aweful. Now I sheeet scared as I don't know what is to be done. I live in a remote area so there's no one who knows drumming or anything related to it besides him. I'm having two questions, 1) Is the tension rod or its female part damaged? If yes does it mean that my snare is damaged now ? 2) Can I get the snare to sound good by getting it tuned by some expert ? Please help guys. Also how can I attach a video of the same so that I can show you how does it sound now.

Drm1979

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Ok first im not sure if your snare is damaged or not without seeing it, so my first question is do the tensions rods go into the lugs and stay or do they just fall out. If they actually stay in and hold their tuning then you might be ok. Second since your new at this and still learning how to tune your drums I would advise going on YouTube yourself and look up snare tuning tutorial videos. There are tons out there that can show you the basics of how to tune and you can achieve the sound you want. If the lugs, or tension rods are damaged you can go online and order the parts that need to be replaced. Drum factory direct is a great website to use for this. There is also a parts section on drums for sale. Just type either of these into a search and the websites should come up.

Chinmay147

Reaction score