Remote hi hat experiences?

stevil

Reaction score
I would LOVE to move my hi hats about 6-7 inches to my right. Does anyone have experience (good or bad) with offset or remote stands?

halldorl

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
The latest model from Tama is by far the best remote hihat I’ve tried so far. No lag.

polycrescendo

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I have the Trick Predator 6 foot cable hat. It's great for what it is but I don't see them available anymore except for the replacement cables. I wouldn't hesitate to buy a used one if you see one though.

Nacci

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I have some experience with a Yamaha Remote Hi Hat from back during my little stint of trying to play double bass.

My slave pedal pushed my hats just far enough to my left to aggravate me so I wanted exactly that; the ability to move the top section of my hats over to the right that 6”.

The problem you will encounter, at least with the Yamaha is that it is not possible to just put a little jag in the cable to accomplish this because the two parts of the remote hats are too long, there is no space for the jag. You will be forced to put a 360 loop in the cable and that is going to give you so much resistance and lag that the hats are unplayable.

I actually replaced the Yamaha cable with a high end mountain bike derailleur cable to increase flexibility and see if I could eliminate that drag, which it did, but simply no enough.

I just took the whole set up out the other day, disassembled it and am replacing the spring in the foot section top tube with a strong one. I’ll see how that works.

The hats close easy enough it is the return to open that needs to be solved.

Jorn

Reaction score
I had a Gibraltar offset hihat stand first. It uses a short cable. The friction In the cable was totally unacceptable and I deemed it a boat anchor. Now I sometimes use a DW remote hat. This one works well and feels very smooth.

stevil

Reaction score