Removing a Re-Ring from a Ludwig 3 ply shell

K.O.

DFO Master
Reaction score
I'm in the process of cutting down an old Ludwig 3 ply 10x14" marching snare shell into a 6.5x14" that would be more practical to use with drum sets (this was a shell with yellowed and somewhat damaged Blue Sparkle wrap that I had picked up a few years back for $10). After cutting the shell down to 6.5 inches on a table saw (which did not go perfectly as I am not a woodworking pro by any means, but I did get a useable result) I was confronted with the problem of removing the upper re-ring from the cut off portion of the shell for re-use on the new upper edge of the shell. I asked a few folks for advice on what to do and was told by one it likely couldn't easily be done without destroying the ring. The other advice I got was to soak the shell portion in water until it started to delaminate. I figured that would work but I didn't think it would be especially good for the ring. I did some googling as well and found a few other suggestions. These were put together with hide glue which apparently will re-activate with the application of heat and moisture. Buried deep in a response on a forum thread (on a different drum forum that I had never been to before) where someone asked the same question was a suggestion to use a microwave to heat up the glue. That seemed to have some promise, at least enough to give it a try. The shell cutoff would just barely fit into our kitchen microwave....what did I have to lose? Well, maybe a major kitchen appliance that my wife is quite attached to. I put it in, crossed my fingers, and fired it up. Fire being the operative word in that sentence, the aluminum particles in the sparkle wrap that remained in the scarf joint started to spark almost immediately and the wrap itself started to flare up. I hit the stop button right away and the small flame went out. Okay, so that was a problem. After some thought I put the shell piece in the regular oven at 200 degrees to