Restoring “Ludwig” Kit Bought for $50

KevNoon

Reaction score
Hey guys. I’m new to the forum. I bought an incomplete “Ludwig” drum kit off Facebook last week in the hopes of restoring it and having it be playable. I intend to use the kit to record some tracks eventually.

I’ve attached photos of the kit in its original condition with cracked black wraps, beat up heads, and hardware that needs some love.

In stripping the hardware and the wraps off the shells, I noticed there is some splitting and damage to the outside of the shells.

I am hoping to restore these drums and either stain and seal them, or if they’re unsalvageable, buy new wraps.

Looking for help:
Identifying if these are real Ludwigs
What material the shells are made of
How I should approach the project/how to repair the plywood (pictures attached)

I have never done a project like this before

The last few photos are my inspiration. I like the natural wood look with a clear coat on it.

Attachments

carter

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
It's a budget kit. Can't say if it's Ludwig from these photos, but if it is, it's a cheap asian made student kit. Perfect for a restoration experiment. You will have a lot of fun.
The exterior ply is low quality wood and is never going to look nice. If it were me, I'd use wood filler on the exteriors and paint them a cool color. Or if you want to learn how to wrap drums, go that route.

deegeebee

Reaction score
A very cheap and easy option that will get a budget kit looking great quick is to cover them in animal print cloth from a fabric store. Horrible idea if you are thinking about sound quality of a decent kit, but for sprucing up a budget kit without blowing too much time or money on it, it can't be beat. As a teenager I did this to 3 kits and they always sold quick and easy. Good option if you ever decide to move up to a higher end kit.

ARGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score