Ride cymbal placement

Rmgreg

Reaction score
I recently got a Roland TD-30 and noticed the ride cymbal was in the middle between the 2 crash cymbals. I know this is all personal preference but I though the ride was generally to the right on a 3 cymbal setup. I'm relatively new to drum sets (not drums) so I don't have a preference yet. I'd prefer to start with the most common setup. I went to my first acoustic lesson and sure enough the ride was to the right. I assumed the previous owner moved the ride but the manual shows it in the middle. Any idea why this would be? Pluses/minuses?

bpaluzzi

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
It depends on the style of music you're playing, your tom setup, and a number of other things. Many (probably most) players I've seen (outside of metal) bring the ride in tighter, as it's going to be used more than crashes.

Elvis

The King of Rock'n'Roll
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Whenever I did a 3 cymbal setup, I would put the ride between the crashes, but biased to the left (I'm left footed).
One crash is between the rack tom and the hats, the other crash sits just outside of the ride, placed above the ride.
I generally use a lighter and smaller crash in that position, because I'm looking for a quick accent when playing the ride.
I prefer it not to mix with the sound of the ride for too long.
The other crash would be larger and heavier, so as to give me a longer and bolder accent.

Elvis

Elvis

The King of Rock'n'Roll
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yes, that's basically like how I setup.
If it doesn't work for you, set them up however you like.
Nice thing about a drum kit, because its made up of individual pieces, you can set it up however you like.
...btw, forgot to address your question....there is a style of playing known as "open handed" where the arms don't cross. It places the ride on the opposite side....maybe this is what you noticed?