Ride Recommendations?

Linley

Reaction score
Hey there, I'm a semi new drummer and was wanting to upgrade my ride. I started playing the drums a few months back with my current budget drum set, and the more I play the worse sounding it seems to me when compared to when I play the kits my friends own. First thing I want to upgrade are the cymbals, and since I just bought a pair of high hats.... Any recommendations on a good ride? I'd prefer something under $150, and I play a bunch of rock and a bit of country as well. I was looking at a 21" Z Custom, as well as a 21" Z Custom Mega Bell, but I'm not sure if they're the right choice? Any suggestions would help, thank you!

gbow

Reaction score
I agree, Zildjian A would be the right move. Custom A, sweet ride, etc. there are several different ones over the years.

Over in the cymbals for sale section, there is this ad.

With two vintage 60s, 22 inch rides, $115 for each, either would be a good choice. There are sound files for them. I prefer the heavier one, but you can go listen for yourself. They both look to be nice cymbals, would be a good choice, and are a steal at that price.

gabo

D. B. Cooper

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I think most guys around here will tell you vintage A's. Which is an awesome choice. I understand not wanting to go used too, though. But they truely are top level, professional cymbals. I'd look to get them from the 60's and before in medium weights. It can be hard to find 70's A's in lighter weights and the heavy ones always sounded a bit clangy to me.

I also can't recommend Istanbul Agop's Xist line. They can be really beautiful pies for very little money and can easily be had cheaply new. Other Maker's budget lines usually leave me wanting more and I'd stay away from Sabian's B8s, Zildjian's ZHT, ZBT, and scimitar. Some people dig Paiste's budget offerings, but I honestly think you'd be way better off buying used pro-level cymbals for the money... More room to grow.