Ringo

Status
Not open for further replies.

JOE COOL

DFO Veteran
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
ringo was a player...yet is spite of that paul was often directing. and it wasnt limited to ringo.
i remember years back hearing the taxman solo, and thinking wow thats one of george's best...until i found out it was paul.

and so despite ringo being a player after listening to this video i wonder just how much more direction paul put on ringo.
as a drummer i would be open to other musicians input, but when you accept that you then also run the risk of them increasing their direction.

i see drummers more then any others often on the recieving end of suggestions, rather then offering them to other band mates .
but maybe thats just me.

John DeChristopher

Very well Known Member
Platinum Supporting Member
Reaction score
That was great. I’d never seen it.

I’ve never thought it unusual that John and Paul suggested parts for Ringo to play. They were the song writers and had a vision of how they wanted the song to sound. They might have suggested ideas or parts, but Ringo made all those songs his own.

And the notion that Paul was anywhere near as proficient as Ringo is just plain silly.

Last edited:

Nacci

DFO Master
Reaction score
That fact of the matter is there is no video evidence of Ringo playing 95% of the post Revolver material.

This is also where we see the drumming become far more sophisticated and experimental. Diverging in style from the Rockabilly style that put Starkey on the map.

I am curious if there is another drummer out there that has reached the acclaim of Starkey that no one has seen replicate his most iconic parts.

vintagedrummersweden

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
That fact of the matter is there is no video evidence of Ringo playing 95% of the post Revolver material.

This is also where we see the drumming become far more sophisticated and experimental. Diverging in style from the Rockabilly style that put Starkey on the map.