Rogers ‘72 kit heads and tuning

kenpchef

Reaction score
Hi vintage experts out there, I am new to the forum and finally able to get back to drumming. I have been a percussionist and musician since 4 however had to take a hiatus due to life happening. I have a Rogers 72 set minus the snare and am in the process of replacing the heads. My goal is to have a great live sound but I plan on doing some personal recording at home. Does anyone have any pointers or suggestions as to how you personally have achieved a superior sound from your Rogers toms. The kick just sounds amazing no matter what I do to it, but I am very curious what has worked for you. I have used remo heads in the past (several styles) but again I have been out of the scene for quite some time. Many thanks for your help
-K

A73155EB-3E22-43DE-9679-7DF6B9B9A88F.jpeg E42E5BBE-2810-495A-8B45-AFD6B89754F2.jpeg

1988fxlr

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I’ve been building a shell pack of Rogers toms over the past few months and have been doing a lot of head experiments. They are versatile drums that work well with most options.

My favorite combination has been coated Remo vintage ambassadors over coated Evans reso 7 heads. This gives a warm round sound without a lot of stray overtones but not at all thuddy. The combination seems to work well for higher and lower tunings, where I tend to find regular coated ambassadors to have an unpleasant papery attack tuned very low and coated emperors can sound a little lifeless tuned high. The Vintage A are a nice middle ground.

What kind of music do you mostly play? Its hard to make bass drum suggestions without knowing if you want a short thuddy sound or a big ringing sort of feel

kenpchef

Reaction score