Rolling toolbox hack for drummers

mw13068

Reaction score
Most of the drummers I meet are "umm, okay..." about my playing, but love my transport system! :)

I've been gigging this way for the past 3 years or so. Only real problem is 1.) You need a vehicle that can fit the box, FT and BD, and 2.) If you've got to go up flights of stairs a lot, you'll be going piece by piece sometimes.

mw13068

Reaction score
How much does that case weigh when it's full?
Probably on the order of 50-80lbs. I have perfected a method of loading and unloading it from the back of my van solo -- by tipping one end up on the bumper, and lifting the other end and rolling it up and in. That's the only point where I have to lift any real weight, so I can do it carefully and methodically.

But a bandmate's help is never refused.

dtk

DFO Master
Reaction score
I was curious what the case costs...$89 w/free delivery from Amazon...a bunji and and you might be able to take all at once.

mw13068

Reaction score
I was curious what the case costs...$89 w/free delivery from Amazon...a bunji and and you might be able to take all at once.
Yes, there are rails that would facilitate the bungee system (or bungee net, if I were going to). I have an irrational fear of one of my drums falling off and smacking the concrete if I were to try to bungee them. But my bungee-fu is not strong. :)

mw13068

Reaction score
Love the "Buzzo" sticker! He's quite a character in our small town.
Indeed. I grew up in Lakeville, a few miles from Geneseo. Loved going into Buzzo's as a kid. I should take a road trip to go back and see his shop, and then to the HoG, of course.

RIDDIM

DFO Master
Reaction score
That's cool but as we age, I think more of us appreciate the value of lighter hardware ensembles.

mw13068

Reaction score
That's cool but as we age, I think more of us appreciate the value of lighter hardware ensembles.