Running the hats

Banekiller01

Reaction score
Due to being completely self taught, there's a lot of things i didn't give any attention to when i was learning. One of those things was the ability to run my hats with my left foot to the track, while playing the track. How can i begin to practice this technique?

cworrick

The BIG Bunny on the block
Reaction score
What do you mean by "running your hats"? Are you talking about closing it in time, or doing something else? There are lots of different things that can be done. If you can find a video example, it would help.

Banekiller01

Reaction score
I'm talking about keeping tempo with the left foot, while playing a beat with your hands and right food. Like Bonzo in the moby dick solo

StiGy

Reaction score
im Teaching my students and myself to close the HiHat along the whole Pad practice (on Quarter on Half notes), then this technique becoming more smooth and natural...

Hope this is helps..

what do you think about this?

Last edited by a moderator:

CSR

Member since May 2000
Reaction score
As I'm driving, I often find myself playing imaginary high hat with my left foot to the radio. Might this help it become ingrained and automatic? (No pun intended)

Tilter

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
CSR said:
As I'm driving, I often find myself playing imaginary high hat with my left foot to the radio. Might this help it become ingrained and automatic? (No pun intended)
I do this as well and I'll also play bass drum patterns with my left, in order to improve my weaker foot. Both of our cars have hard plastic foot rests next to the clutch pedal, so I can hear the patterns quite well.

mirico

Reaction score
Try this-Play along with some big band music and play four to the bar on the bass and hihat on 2 and 4.
Play right hand on the ride cymbal with the bass drum and play 2 and 4 with the left hand on the snare.
This trains the brain from the template of rhythm and teaches your nervous system to begin to be independent.