Sam "Ites" Gonsalves ....What does his kit consist of???

Reaction score
Well Firstly Hello....this is my first post here.
I play bongos ....I am just learning....I really like reggae/dub music and would like to expand beyond bongos.
I have been listening to a lot of Mike Love and Sam "Ites" Gonsalves on Youtube.
I would love to put together the percussion kit Sam Ites uses in the clip for "Permanent Holiday" but I am a complete noob and don't know (apart from the Bongos) what the other gear is so I can go buy it.
I would really love some help from anyone with some experience to identify the gear used and specifics like brands and diameters if you know. Any recommendations for stands,cymbals, and other gear, even mics....any help basically would be really appreciated.
Thank you in advance gents.

cheers,

James

Attachments

Soulfinger

Reaction score
Hello James, and welcome to the forum!

Percussion is not my forte but what I can see is:

- the thing he is sitting on is a Cajon
- his right foot is playing a pedal-activated "Foot Cabasa" (Meinl)
- the black drum next to his bongos is a 13" Taku Hirano Hand Bale (Meinl)
- the pink and blue plastic thingies look like temple blocks or jam blocks
- a couple of cymbals which are thin enough to be played by hand (splashes, paper thin crashes, "cajon" cymbals etc. as made by Meinl, Paiste, Sabian...)
- a tambourine that can be mounted on a stand

Hope that helps!

Bongo Brad

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
The tambourine could be Toca brand. Looks like a mounted vibraslap too.

Reaction score
THANK YOU VERY MUCH INDEED GENTS especially to Soulfinger......and thanks for the welcome too.
Great forum and very helpful!
Not sure if I will have anything of value to contribute here but maybe make some purchases in the for sale threads ;-)
This is really priceless info for me and very much appreciated.

Would anyone possibly know or be able to give a good guess as to the brand of bongos and perhaps the cymbal diameters?