School me on Rogers Powertone snare drums

Drum Play

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Ok..what i know about vintage drums you can fit in a thimble. I'm reading books..ex. guide to vintage drums, but i'm lost. I've seen fullerton powertone snare drums go for about $150.00, then i see wood ones go for more than $400. Can someone please explain the logic. Again as i said i'm new to vintage drums and trying to fully understand the market. I had a chance to get a good looking powertone for $125.00 in nashville but didn't, thinking i'd have the chance again but no luck. Oh the powertone was a fullerton.

R

RickP

The wood models were made in smaller quantities therefore they are more rare. This accounts for the price differential. If you really want to see a large difference between metal she'll and wood shell snares check out the Dynasonics.

The Powertone snares regardless of shell material are really nice sounding snare drums. My personal preference is for the chrome ove brass metal shell models.

troutstudio

Idealist
Reaction score
Powertones are all great. But I think the wood shell version is about the the best 5" vintage wood drum made. It all came together for Rogers in that drum as far as I'm concerned. $00.02

MrDrums2112

"Normal" Drummer
Reaction score
Agree with everything above - wood shell PowerTones are more rare and demand more money. The lower price on the Fullerton could be because that is a later era drum, and Fullerton is when Rogers quality started to drop off (others more knowledgeable about Rogers may chime in here, I'm only guessing). I have a Dayton era COB 5x14 that I really like. The PowerTone is a great snare drum, and if you can get one in good condition for $150 then you really can't go wrong at all.

FFR428

Very well Known Member
Reaction score