Shallow bass drum club

bongomania

DFO Master
Reaction score
I know only a few people will be into this, but if you have a bass that’s less than 14” deep, let’s share our pics, reviews, and tips for how to get the best sound from them!

I’ve been using a 10 x 24 for a few months now. It’s a Gretsch USA Custom that was originally 20” deep, and the previous owner had it cut into two drums. I’m still working on dialing in the setup; sometimes I think I’ve got it nailed, but then I’ll read some suggestion for a different head or muffling, and I try it, and find myself back at square one.

Best results I’ve gotten so far are with the batter tuned low and the reso tuned high. The reso I like best is an Aquarian Jack DeJohnette with a port hole. For batters and muffling, I’ve gotten great sound from two setups:
-Aquarian coated SK1, nothing inside.
-Remo coated Ambassador, KickPro weighted pillow resting against the batter but not touching the reso.

I tried more minimal muffling with the Remo, like a small towel, but got too much “hitting a giant paper bag” sound. Also the reason for tuning the reso higher is I found that there was a slapback sound from the reso at lower tuning, only noticeable when miked. Anyway it’s a work in progress, I’m still trying to find my way with it.

Let’s hear about your experience with shallow bass. What’s worked for you?

indedrum

DFO Sponsor
Sponsor
Reaction score
I am a big fan of the shallower drums, with a 12x20 that is a keeper. My favorite head setup for that (and just about all bass drums really) would be an Aquarian Force 1 clear batter, and a Regulator (unported) reso. I would highly recommend tossing the Ambassador and your muffling stuff, and putting a regulator on there.

bongomania

DFO Master
Reaction score
I actually already have a Force 1 clear, but it was giving me a noticeable buzzing sound, I think from the tone ring. Have you encountered that? How do you have yours tuned?

drumstuff66

Reaction score