Shopping e-drums, your recommendations please?

Ian S

Reaction score
I'm shopping for an electronic kit. Prefer a 4-piece with hi-hat and one cymbal.

I've done some research, mostly looking at Roland TD series but open to others. So much lingo used in this circle and I'm not a techie. It's hard to figure out what some of the differences are between various kits and modules and I would really appreciate your recommendations.

I want a quality product, but I don't want to spend more than necessary. Used is.. not preferred. I'd rather go new with anything electronic, mostly because I'm not an electrician. I am open to used if necessary though.

This kit won't be used for anything except practice in my living room, so I do not need bells and whistles. For instance, I don't care about having hundreds of programmed drum kits in the module, especially if I can import my own sounds.

However, there are a few key features and functions I want it to have.

1. quality, built to last, for years I hope.

2. dynamic strike sensing? I've seen people talking about "velocity layers"? I'm under the impression this has to do with what I'm asking for here, but I want all pieces to distinguish my hits in a range from soft taps to loud hits and all in between.

3. positional sensing would be nice, at least on the snare drum (be great on toms too, but this is not a deal breaker), rim clicks would be fantastic, but not necessary.

4. I want to use a real hi-hat stand with hi-hats as realistic as possible.

5. I only want one cymbal and I want it to be large. I am annoyed by the idea of a 13 inch ride cymbal. I guess this is not a deal breaker but I'm really hoping to find a larger cymbal.

6. I also would like to be able to choke the cymbal by grabbing it.