Should I Buy a Sample Pad

fishstix94

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I recently had to move for work. I'm now living in DC in a small apartment. Naturally, I can no longer play my kit in this setting.

I really don't want to hassle around with renting a practice space. So I started looking into sample pads. I just want something to keep the creative juices flowing, something that I can play in my apartment and something to potentially play out at smaller gigs.

I started looking into the Roland spd-sx and the alesis multi strike pad. I have NO experience with these sample pads. Do you think this is a worthwhile alternative to having a kid?

If so, which do you recommend? From what I have read, the roland is fairly old technology. I'd hate to drop $700 on one for roland to release something new shortly.

I have also heard horror stories regarding alesis's quality. Has anyone experienced the same?

Any advice would be appreciated! -Fish

Last edited:

bpaluzzi

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
The SPD-SX doesn't support a hi hat pedal. The Roland Octapad (SPD-30) is their model that allows for minikit playing, although it doesn't support sample import.

The Yamaha DTX Multi 12 is another possible contender -- it supports hi hat pedals and (very limited) sample import.

fishstix94

Reaction score
The SPD-SX doesn't support a hi hat pedal. The Roland Octapad (SPD-30) is their model that allows for minikit playing, although it doesn't support sample import.

The Yamaha DTX Multi 12 is another possible contender -- it supports hi hat pedals and (very limited) sample import.
Good point. I dont see the hihat peddle being a deal breaker for me.

dtk

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
The sample pad pro is the cheapest option...for a reason....less built in memory and perhaps lower quality.
That said I own one. it was a good entry into sampling and triggering and I have liked Alesis.