Singing bowls, gongs, chimes etc etc

Boydiggity

Reaction score
I've recently found a new obsession in eastern metallic percussion instruments. Many of which have old traditions and meditations associated with them. Though I care very little in actually exploring any meditation practices associated with the actual instruments (I'll clarify that historical tradition does interest me, though not so much the modern "sound healing hippy dippy" stuff often associated with this in the western world today). I've just found myself really captivated by all the different sounds from different singing bowls, gongs, kyeezees etc etc and started picking up some for fun that'll I'll likely find a place for in one of my occasional improv settings. They're fun to play.

Anyone else get into this kind of thing, and what do you like to play around with?

& You Dont Stop

Drumming Since '85
Reaction score
I can't believe I was a drummer for nearly 2 decades before I discovered singing bowls. Truly fascinating instruments. My church now uses one during prayer/meditation

Tuckerboy

Reaction score
I also have never heard of them, pretty cool. You can get a similar sound using friction mallets on gongs, cymbals, drums (mainly coated drum heads), only limited to your imagination using different ball types and textures.

Last edited by a moderator:

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score