Slingerland Satin Flame Pearl cleaning?

Radio King

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I'm doing a refurb for a local friend of a blue satin flame solid-shell Artist from a matching '64 kit. Chrome is easily restorable, Zoomatic in good condition with knob affixed, original extended snare wires with metal strap, etc. However, I have no experience cleaning a satin flame finish, and I don't want to inadvertently scratch it any more than it already is. There are already a few minor cracks - nothing alarming, and of course I realize that I'll never get the "blue" back (it's faded to a lavender), but I'd love to get some of the luster back. Is it possible, and what product(s) would you recommend?

Attachments

viragobike4

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Scrubbing Bubbles with a soft (I mean soft) brush. Brush in direction of the flame pattern followed by Novus #1. These were pretty groady

Attachments

Radio King

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
richm said:
Scrubbing Bubbles with a soft (I mean soft) brush. Brush in direction of the flame pattern followed by Novus #1. These were pretty groady
Advice taken! Thanks, richm. Soft brush, as in toothbrush?
And man, what a killer looking set! Drums are nice, too. ;-)

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
Nice snare - I have a 12/14/18 (real bass!) in blue satin flame........I've toyed with the idea of a matching Slingy wood snare but I already have a red sparkle RK, champagne Artist and a 50's satin mahogany.......another wood one would be overkill........if your buddy is thinking of selling or a trade (I have a ton of cymbals and 25+ snares).....have him contact me.....thanks.

Radio King

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
JazzDrumGuy said: