snare bed design and effects..

anthony marquart

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
As I'm very new to drum building I would like to get some information in snare beds, more precisely the impacts of depth and width.

What would be considered deep? what is shallow? What are the effects of each? Also the shape, curved or flat? width?

I have 2 snare drums that I think have maybe too deep of beds,.. to tune the head you can clearly see the the hoops are pulled down further over the snare beds. Place the drum on a flat surface, snares down, and it will rock back and forth on the hoop. I can tune the drums, and I think they have great sound. but maybe I'm missing something.. I have 2 more shells I'm working on right now that have what I think are very shallow curved beds,... and I'm not sure what to do with them,..

Thank you for any information you can provide..

indedrum

DFO Sponsor
Reaction score
The best way to learn is to look at snare drums others have built, and build a bunch off drums and experiment. The general guidelines are deeper = less sensitive/less buzz, shallower = more sensitive/more buzz.

Seb77

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
A certain bed offers a certain snare reponse, but you can influence it to a degree by using different snare wire end plates.
With a deep bed response can be on the dry side, with less buzz. Another aspect is you can hit the drum hard and it won't choke.
With a shallower snare bed you can get a wetter snare sound at low volume (more buzz too), but they can also choke the tone at high volume. Angled end plates on the snare wires can remedy that, creating the impression of a slightly deeper bed. With a deep bed you can get a slightly wetter sound with a wire end plate lying flat against the head.

cymtrich

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Interested, who makes angled end plate wires ?
michael, look at fat cat snare wires. they have "pitch" for shallow beds and "no pitch" for deeper beds. bill

Seb77

DFO Veteran
Reaction score