Step up kit advice

klamjamz

Reaction score
I've been playing the same Pearl Export kit for the last 15 years and it's time for an upgrade. I was hoping to get some other drummers to weigh in with their thoughts.

I'm playing in a indie/alternative band (or was, before Covid19) and need something for rehearsal and gigging. Priorities for me are sound, durability, and looks. I'm also interested in something that will be recognized as a serious instrument (my exports get no respect). I like either 20/12/14 or 22/13/16 for sizes.

I'm looking at used/vintage Sonor, Ludwig, and DWs. I was also checking out new kits from the smaller companies, SJC, C&C, INDe, but I've never seen or played one of these so it's hard to tell if the hype is real.

Looking to spend around $1500 but I can go higher if I really fall in love with something. Any gearheads out there with some recommendations?

Browny

Reaction score
I've been playing the same Pearl Export kit for the last 15 years and it's time for an upgrade. I was hoping to get some other drummers to weigh in with their thoughts.

I'm playing in a indie/alternative band (or was, before Covid19) and need something for rehearsal and gigging. Priorities for me are sound, durability, and looks. I'm also interested in something that will be recognized as a serious instrument (my exports get no respect). I like either 20/12/14 or 22/13/16 for sizes.

I'm looking at used/vintage Sonor, Ludwig, and DWs. I was also checking out new kits from the smaller companies, SJC, C&C, INDe, but I've never seen or played one of these so it's hard to tell if the hype is real.

Looking to spend around $1500 but I can go higher if I really fall in love with something. Any gearheads out there with some recommendations?