Stick technique advice for a beginner please.

Oldgitonadrum

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
Being new to the forum, I do hope this is the correct place for my query.
I am a beginner drummer and am experiencing a lot of difficulty in reasonable technique with the drumsticks generally, but with getting consistency between left and right hands in particular. Currently I am unable to visit a drum tutor due to COVID-isolation for medical reasons. Please can anyone spare me some advice on best options prior to being able to get out again, which could be two or three months time.
There are a couple of books I have seen mention of: 1. Stick Technique by Bill Bachman 2. Stick Technique by Jim McCarthy. The excerpt from Jim McCarthy's book looks very comprehensive but I cannot seem to find any way of buying the book. Bill Bachman's book gets good reviews but I am unsure if it would be relevant to my beginner level.
Has anyone used both books and be willing to recommend this or other books based on my beginner status?
Any other suggestions for working on my technique would also be gratefully received.
YouTube has been pretty helpful for grip and rudiments, however overwhelms me very quickly about stick technique!
Thanks all.

footbeat

Reaction score
Teachers can do lessons remotely via Skype or Zoom. If you have a phone with a decent camera, this should be good enough for someone to take a look at how you are holding the sticks and what your strokes are doing. I just recently switched from traditional grip to match grip and worked hard to change technique in both hands to get a good match grip. I did this with help from my son's teacher, who is now my teacher. I never used books or videos as a primary source of info. A good teacher is what always came first for me, and if you see books or videos that point you toward an area of interest, ask the teacher if they or someone they know can direct you.

Oldgitonadrum

Reaction score