Sticks-do you break them?

drummingbulldog

Reaction score
I started playing in 1982. For the first ten years in broke a fair amount of sticks. Usually at the tip/shank area. Once in a while I would break in the middle or by the grip but usually that was due to defective grain. Most of all when my sticks break now it is from internal fracture like a pool cue. I never break them the normal way anymore. Have you seen anything similar in your time playing drums. I can definitely seen a dropoff with refinement in my technique over the years. I also use much lighter sticks than I did 30 years ago. Nowadays, a 5a is probably the heaviest I use.

Rotarded

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I play 7ANs and Funk/Rock. My sticks last me 3-4 gigs. Usually a tip failure, or an occasional shoulder crack.

cochlea

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I rarely break sticks like I did when I was in my teens. Today, if anything, it's the tip that breaks. However, today I'm more apt to get rid of beat-up sticks sooner than I did when I was young and had very little money available to purchase new ones.

Doof

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Occasionally, but I’ve been playing maple sticks over the last couple years.
When it happens they usually split along the grain, and often quite a long split.

thejohnlec

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Until covid, I've been doing 70-85 gigs a year. I use Vater 5B wood tips for 95% of those gigs, and one pair will last for months. They'll fray, but they never break. Best sticks ever.

Nacci

DFO Master
Reaction score
I used to but don’t anymore so something happened there. I go six or eight months on the same pair then end up retiring them because noticeable weight difference.

unregisteredalien

Reaction score