Strollin with Bone - Super fast shuffle (for me)

michaelg

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Super fast fun shuffle this one, Supposed to be playin it with a band on Fri .

Anyone play it before or this type of fast jump blues shuffle ? and how do you play it so fast

Paradiddle

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I'm 99% sure that's my friend Stephen Hodges. I studied with him for several years. Put headphones on and listen because on that one he's more dragging and accenting the left hand versus playing a strict two hand shuffle.

If you want to hear the best of the best playing West Coast Blues listen to James Harmon, Hollywood Fats, and Kid Ramos (who where both in Harmon's band). And in particular study Stephen Hodges and Stephen Innes.

I put this as more a jump then a shuffle as an FYI.

PS - Hodges has been playing with Mavis Staples for years now.

Elvis

The King of Rock'n'Roll
Reaction score
Super fast fun shuffle this one, Supposed to be playin it with a band on Fri .

Anyone play it before or this type of fast jump blues shuffle ? and how do you play it so fast

I tried it just now. Kept falling into a swing beat....maybe that's the answer?

BennyK

DFO Master
Reaction score
Flat tire forward motion . Straight, if you manage to squeeze it in, may turn out robotic .

I love Bob Wills and the old generation Texas and Okie jump shuffle guys .

Kcmcc

Reaction score
And he's accenting the 2 and 4 hard within the righthand swing feel, which is the primary backbeat, so the highhat is playing backbeat more than the snare.

jaymandude

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Yup. Good answers. And Stephen Innes. One of the best...

That's an old tune, T Bone walker maybe..

blueshadow

Just Shuffling along
Staff member
Reaction score
I'm 99% sure that's my friend Stephen Hodges. I studied with him for several years. Put headphones on and listen because on that one he's more dragging and accenting the left hand versus playing a strict two hand shuffle.