Talk about standing the test of time

DrummerJustLikeDad

That's Me, The Silent Son
Reaction score
Drumline in the Grand Parade of Lifeless Packaging
Joe sounds good. I always enjoy his playing. He had strong ties to the swing era, like Buddy Rich, and he never crossed over into bebop. But he was still a virtuoso.

The best thing in that clip for me is Paul Desmond. What a phenomenal soloist. :occasion5:
Of course, as a drummer I love Joe, and I’ve shown him the love in other posts, but I got to give it up for Paul here too. He was literary and intellectual with a wit as dry as his saxophone. But then solos to make you weep like a child. Beautiful player.

TheBeachBoy

Ringo Fire
Reaction score
DBQ is my favorite jazz band and Morello is probably my favorite jazz drummer. He always played so tastefully.

Mongrel

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Look, I'm not even going to pretend I'm smart enough to know what I'm looking at. Couldn't name one chord or even what flavor "jazz" this is....

But I will say this-EVERY clip I have seen of these guys not only sounds GREAT, but exudes such CLASS I'm mesmerized....just mesmerized. Breaking the "cool" sound barrier because they don't have a single phony poser bone in their body.

To bad Jazz is "dead" :roll:

Lol

Tigerdrummer

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Morello was the all time best in my opinion!
Yes my great regret is that drum wise I discovered him after he passed. I do know a local guy who knew him and has nothing but good to say about what a kind and helpful guy he was.

Last edited:

levelpebble

Reaction score
DANG. That was an incredible performance by all! Makes me want to pull my Morello Silver Sparkle Super Classics off the market!

rondrums51

rondrums51
Reaction score
In the late 60's, Joe was the big thing because he was doing Ludwig clinics all the time. My drummer friends were all saying he could play a roll with his left hand and on his bass pedal.