Tama Starclassic Maple or Gretsch renown?

joetires

Reaction score
I am playing a Tama B/B kit and looking to use a Maple kit as well. Any thoughts on Gretsch renown vs Starclassic Maple. Is the Tama warmer in tone or is the Renown have a more focused tone.

SpinaDude

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I've never heard a direct comparison, but looking outside that, looking at build quality and attention to detail, I will always say Tama first.

Wxmaggot

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Opposite of Spinadude in the fact that I only have experience with Renowns (RN1, not the current model). They are certainly focused and are easily tuned. Trust me, I'm no expert on tuning. Just seems really easy to get a great sound going down or up.

I've posted about them a few times in threads like these. The build quality on mine was perfect. Edges nice and smooth. They are a little heavy, with sturdy hardware. All I can tell you is try to play them if you can. People have told me the sound very similar to USA customs. As for the newer models, I'm not sure. Good luck!

mpungercar

Reaction score
I've had both, and to my ears the two are very similar. It's pretty obvious to me Tama was aiming squarely at Gretsch when they came out with the Starclassic line. The Tamas can be had with or without "sound focus rings", so that can change the equation a bit. But all things being equal, I'd go for a Gretsch kit because... well, Gretsch. That said, all things aren't usually equal so I would pick the kit that had my preferred sizes.

audiochurch

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Tama based on quality I have experienced with them vs. Gretsch over the year. Tama is always consistent. Students with Gretsch kits, snare, etc. regularly report odd flaws like hardware breaking on a drum, ply separation, etc.

Rich K.

DFO Star
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Aren't the Starclassic maples closer in price to the top of the line Gretsch kits?