Tape residue removal

Tilter

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I've never used it on vintage cymbals so I don't know if it'll remove the patina, but I remove sticker/adhesive residue from everything (including cymbals) with this:

https://www.amainhobbies.com/t.a.-emerald-performance-plus-4-motor-spray-tae4200/p254393?gclid=EAIaIQobChMI34qW-ruC1wIVAl6GCh0cXgEwEAQYASABEgIUzfD_BwE

One of my hobbies is RC Car modeling and I've been using this particular motor spray for over 12 years. It's similar to an electronic contact cleaner and has never harmed any surface that I've used it on. It's also great for removing that subtle slime left behind from Moon Gel type dampers.

mlayton

Night Creature
Reaction score
Goo Gone, patience, and the edge of an old credit card or something like that in case it has to be scraped some. I often use my fingernail but that's probbaly not the smartest move.

drumtimejohn

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Any cleaner will remove patina. Is what it is if you want it gone. The adhesive remover I use on anything (vintage wrap, metal, brass) is non-abrasive. Ive removed duct tape residue like yours before with the product. Like Mike said, patience. Just took adhesive off an Acro yesterday into today. I had to keep coming back to it but it worked perfectly.

Attachments

doubleroll

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I tired like hell to remove duct tape form an old Zildjian rock ride...while it faded with goo gone it was still visible. Will try some of the suggestions here as well.

Geardaddy

Very well Known Member
Reaction score