Teachers, What Do I Need to Get There?

Jazzhead

Reaction score
Hello to all teachers here,

I have been playing drums on and off for about 12 years now. Growing up, all the people around me, although very good at playing, would play by ear. That’s how I learned to play as well, never got a teacher really. Initially I would play different beats on the table by hand and then i got sticks and practiced on a pillow until my dad got me a drum set and I continued playing by ear on my Drumset. So, I cannot read music and I know it is ideal to be able to read music and play by that but I think playing by ear has helped me to be creative and imaginative behind the kit at least.

I have grown up now and I have developed a deep interest in Jazz drumming. I listen to a lot of old jazz stuff (brubeck, miles, coltrane, etc.) and also some modern avant garde jazz bands. My goal is not to be a superstar but I want to be able to play some jazz standards and be able to keep up with a trio or sth at a local restaurant playing jazz standards.
Where do I need to start to get there? Should I practice rudiments? Master the snare drum?
Currently, youtube is my teacher, I practice basic jazz patterns, rudiments, etc. all by ear still. It does help me but I am not sure what I am doing is the best way to get there.
I’d appreciate your input on how I should practice, what should I practice, how often, should I get a private teacher?

Thanks!

Attachments

Last edited:

dcrigger

DFO Master
Reaction score
You should get a private teacher and learn to read. If you go to a teacher that tells you, you don't need to learn to readread - say "Thank you", stand up and leave, and find a real teacher that knows what they are doing. Why?