The too many cymbals dilemma

AtlantaDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
I’ll admit I’m a cymbalholic. But I think one could get by happily with two rides (high and low), a crash of some sort, and perhaps a china/swish. And probably one pair of hi hats. Now do I do that? No. Should I do that. Maybe. Will I do that? Probably not.

I decided to roll with the following at the moment.
K 22 dark med
18 kerope
20 K MTL
16 old A hi hats
Swish if I can fit it in.

MntnMan62

Reaction score
My current cymbal arrangement is as follows:

Zildjian 20" mini-cup ride
Zidjian 16" medium crash
Manny's (the defunct music store from 48th St in NYC) made by Zildjian 14" hi hats
Zildjian 17" china
Paiste 10" splash

I have an 18" cymbal that was a ride/crash that is also a Manny's Zildjian but it cracked. I drilled out the crack but the sound of the thing is pretty bad so I just don't use it. I'm in the market for either a Zildjian 16" to 17" dark crash or a 17" to 18" medium crash. That would be all I would ever need.

Last edited:

JDA

DFO Star
Reaction score
old cymbal adage: cymbals stored take up little room/space .
if you think one may be used someday some setting some circumstance hang on to it. only danger is in continued buying gotta draw a line
main ride left side hi hats. fit what you have into those compartments.
mentally. And see if you have enough already. Resist going overboard
Resist some impulses. Good luck with that. I'm almost there. I think I got it cornered.

Last edited:

drummers_need_coffee.exe

Reaction score
Can you pick 2 cymbals and a pair of hats that can fit just about anything? I'm currently running:
20" K MTL
18" small stamp crash ride
15" small stamp hats

Have an 18" A avedis coming in soon I might swap out with the 18" small stamp. We'll see!

JDA

DFO Star
Reaction score