Thinking I might have to give up drumming.

PaulD

Reaction score
As I posted many months ago, I played from 10 until my late 20s and had to give it up for practical reasons (job, living situation, etc). About 6mo ago, due to a few things that inspired me, I decided to take it up again and went in full bore.

I bought a leftover Tama Starclassic B/B kit and, importantly, a set of RTOM Black Holes and Sabian Quiet Tone cymbals (I had a full set of Zildjians from back in the day already). At first, I had the set in my basement which is unfinished and has full height concrete walls on three sides. There's really nothing to dampen noise.

Over the last 3-4 weeks, I've been getting headaches and I'd say they occupy about 25% of my day on average. They're mild but still there. I'm a software developer and manager so frequent headaches aren't good for my livelihood.

Since then I moved the drums upstairs to a large, finished room with wall to wall carpet and a sectional sofa. It's much better and the headaches have abated some, but I still have them and notice a bit of ringing. Additionally, I have the bass drum stuffed pretty full of blankets and some memory foam scraps. The beater is a Vic Firth cahon beater (fairly spongy). I've also been experimenting with both Peltor ear muffs and Sony noise canceling headphones.

Today, I got the bright idea to get a SPL app for my phone (should have done that sooner) and I was seeing levels in the 90s. The high hat was the worst.

At this point, I think I need to quit for few weeks and see how things go. Maybe I should sell the acoustic kit and buy an electronic one.

Anyway, sorry if this is rambling. I'm a bit frustrated. I feel like I've gotten a lot of my chops back and I've really been enjoying it.

Drm1979

Reaction score