THOUGHTS ON SELF-LEARNING DRUMS

NickSchles

Reaction score
So, I’m a drum teacher, and have been teaching for many years. Similarly, I believe in the value of education, and take lessons regularly, and do self study.

That said some people choose to go full solo in their learning... Are you one of those people? If so, I wrote a blog you might be interested in with tips for successful self-learning!

https://nickschlesinger.com/learn-to-play-drums-online-like-a-boss

If you’re a drum teacher or a drum student, I’d love to get your take on this, and if you have thoughts on the blog post, I’d love to read ‘em!

Deafmoon

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
For me, I started out in what I call a Freedom stage. I got bit by the drum bug watching a School Talent Show and an inner desire took over to play the drums. I gravitated to isolating the drummer when listening and playing to Top 40 radio hits until I could play a song; line by line, little by little. I didn't even think seriously about 'a path' of learning. That came about 3 years later when I hit the Discipline stage. Seriousness took over; study, reading, learning, voracious listening to all styles of music, no more drummer isolation but in context, anyone and everyone. Learning continues to this day. At some point that got me to the last step back into the Freedom stage. Only now, in the Freedom/Discipline/Freedom cycle this stage is where I execute ideas spontaneously in the music to express points, shading, colors, & mood of the music. That's pretty much the way I got there 50 years ago to today. Freedom/Discipline/Freedom as I see it.

gbow

Very well Known Member
Reaction score