Thoughts regarding my ole Gretsch shellpack

kona1984

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Rob Cook appraised the four drums and tom holder only at $2200usd in 2010. Is $2000 usd out of touch with reality?

Has the market for what I have gone up or down since 2010 do you think?

I look on eBay but not convinced that's the best indicator. I'd rather folks weigh in here

Thanks,
Gary

Attachments

Last edited:

Stretch Riedle

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I'm not a Gretsch expert, but any modifications especially to a bearing edge [even professionally done] would affect the selling price somewhat. I don't know what the current market value is for your gold sparkle kit, that would be determined by averaging out recent ebay and reverb sales.
Of course you can list the kit for what you want to get. If you want $4000, list it at that. If it doesn't sell then you know it's above current market value.

Stretch

GeeDeeEmm

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
IMO, the "Sold" history on ebay is the best indicator for what various items are worth. Why? Because they have the largest audience in the world, consisting of every level of buyer, from amateurs to the best authorities on collectable items. It seems that only sellers like Steve Maxwell are able to command prices that are higher than the ebay averages.

GeeDeeEmm

kona1984

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Thanks guys. That's pretty well what I thought. As far as the bearing edges are concerned they weren't altered just slightly renewed keeping to the exact intentions. That's why Rob Cook didn't deduct anything in his appraisal.

VintageUSA

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Those look like they are in really good shape.
Assuming everything is original, I'd ask the $2200 and take what I could get from there.
$2000 would be reasonable for the right buyer.

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
I'm seeing re-rings on the snare drum. Is that correct? I'm not aware of re-rings on Gretsch drums.

-Mark