Thumper..of sorts

gwbasley

DFO Veteran
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I didn't want to hijack another thread where this was being discussed and this subject is very interesting to me.

When I studied with Gary Chester he used a low frequency metronome that produced a bass drum type of thump and it was far quicker to fall in sync with than a click. He ran it through a PA system which was set up around the drum set in his studio. An acoustic thump goes right to your gut where you feel it and is effective in changing your emotional state. This differs from anything that you hear through headphones.

Taking this concept a step farther, what if you could have a metronome type device that was built into the throne and produced a thump that you felt but wasn't heard. How about a "smart throne" or some kind of add-on device that could silently help drummers keep rock solid time through a little "kick in the butt".

I'm a pretty good home engineer and machinist but this ones is has stumped me...at least to do it right...so I'm throwing it out to suggestions.

Tornado

DFO Master
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I didn't want to hijack another thread where this was being discussed and this subject is very interesting to me.

When I studied with Gary Chester he used a low frequency metronome that produced a bass drum type of thump and it was far quicker to fall in sync with than a click. He ran it through a PA system which was set up around the drum set in his studio. An acoustic thump goes right to your gut where you feel it and is effective in changing your emotional state. This differs from anything that you hear through headphones.

Taking this concept a step farther, what if you could have a metronome type device that was built into the throne and produced a thump that you felt but wasn't heard. How about a "smart throne" or some kind of add-on device that could silently help drummers keep rock solid time through a little "kick in the butt".