Trying to pick different hi hats: Mostly Zildjian for my choices, however. . .

Old Dog

Reaction score
So, I'm in the market to get a different pair of hats. I've been checking videos left and right. . .there's only a single music store locally and their prices are very disagreeable. I will be buying online eventually and 50/50 on them being used.

I have vintage New Beats. I want something different. I'm leaning dry/dark. So no A customs (they seem bright to me yeah?). I am entirely open to non Zildjians as well. I like the look of the Istanbul Agop Xist line. Also the Instanbul Mehmet Origin Dark hats. I've seen some great looking sets from Turkish, but they are all new and priced in the $400 range.

I'm also curious how size will effect sound, tone or pitch, volume. From what I can gather in the vids, the 13s seem slightly higher pitched and 15s lower. But I am honestly adding some guesswork into that. I've had NO experience with EITHER 13s or 15s. ALWAYS played 14" new beats since freakin' forever.

BTW, I have Zildjian S Mastersound hats. If I play some heavy/metal/rock stuff, they'll be great. But, man, they project and are BRIGHT.

As far as Sabian/Meinl/Paiste. . . .I can't seem to find hardly anything from these manufacturers in my price range.

I'm looking for $200 to $300, closer to $260 and below, but it depends on what they are.

I know a lot of the Dry/dark cymbal lines "seem" to be geared towards Jazz music. At least it seems that way? I will not be playing much jazz, I guarantee that. Just not my thang.

Thanks for any suggestions you have.

jptrickster

DFO Master
Reaction score
There's literally dozens of demo youtube vids and hi hat comparison video's to sift through. The options and choices seem endless these days, can be a very deep rabbit hole!

Old Dog

Reaction score
There's literally dozens of demo youtube vids and hi hat comparison video's to sift through. The options and choices seem endless these days, can be a very deep rabbit hole!