Tuning and sensitivity on 8x14 snares

219Dave

Reaction score
Hey guys-

Recently got a lightly used Yamaha RC 8x14 birch snare (new model) on reverb. I'm not that experienced with snares of this depth. Snare sounds good when hit hard, but any ghost notes have no snare sound on them. Like I'm hitting a tom. I took off the Evans HD dry I had put on, and put an ambassador back on. That didn't work. The reso is factory remo head. I have it tuned medium with a tune bot, on the batter side. Reso side is like 395 at the lugs. I have messed around with snare wire tension, and also with moon gels. Should I crank the reso head above 400, or will that choke it out? Should I try a higher tuning on the batter head? Or any other heads to suggest? Finally, should I consider switching out to 42 strand snare wires? I have 6 or so snares, but don't want to relegate this for fat backbeat 70s sound only. I also didn't see this as a snare that I'd keep tuned high, as I have others in that role.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Redbeard77

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Try lowering the reso tension. My main snare is a 14x8 Gretsch maple and I usually have the reso at 359 Hz while I move the batter between 240 and 266. What tension are you using for your batter head?

219Dave

Reaction score
I'm at work now, but I am pretty sure that I have it around 260-270. I can try lowering reso tension and report back. That is sort of counterintuitive for me, as I thought that would give less sensitivity and a more "tom" sound on ghost notes. No?

dirtysicks

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Crank the reso head and make sure the wires are centered. Both of my 8x14 snares and my two 7x14 snares are great with sensitivity.

Tornado

DFO Veteran
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Deeper snares are just going to be less sensitive than shallow snares, all things being equal. Have you tried a diplomat weight snare side head?

Redbeard77

Very well Known Member
Reaction score