Tuning, heads, wires, setup to get this snare like he wants it?

Josh Vibert

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
So the music director at church is also the lead teaching pastor. He's been a friend for about 20 years now (both of us approaching 40 in the next 2-3 years) and is a very talented multi-instrumentalist. The snare drum sound "in his head" is very deep, low, fat. As such, he went out and with his own money (not church budget) bought a Gretsch 6.5x14 black nickel steel snare drum. When we started attending the church and I started playing a year ago, the heads on it were trashed and he had a Big Fat Snare on the batter. Wires are Puresound Blasters. Multi-rods, brushes, etc are all used and appreciated, but I struggled with both feel and articulation trying to play them on the BFS. So, I asked him if I could put new heads (out of my own pocket) on the drum and he agreed. My goal was to get the sound he wanted but without the BFS so that I could get the feel and articulation of playing directly on the head. I spent a day A/B'ing a Coated Emp, CS Coated Dot, and Coated PS3 with varying levels of Gaffers tape. Ended up with the Coated PS3 and the Big Fat Snare back on the drum. What sounds "in tune" to me is "too cranked" for him. Being a 6.5" steel shell drum, there are just overtones galore, especially at low tunings.

Any thoughts or ideas of how to get there?

For reference, when I asked him "what's the snare sound you hear in your head? What do you want it to sound like?" this was the recording he pointed to: