Two toms up or two down?

Tigerdrummer

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Ok I'm a drum newbie and a stay at home player. I just want to ask this in attempt to learn a bit more. Why do so many drummers prefer one mounted tom instead of two. My kit (inherited not bought) has two mounted and one one the floor. It seems a second floor tom which I may one day add for fun would be out of the way and tougher to reach than what I'd like. I see your pics and know many of you dont have the smaller mounted tom. I'd just like your rationale. Again thanks for sharing your expertise on this.

Polska

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I played 2 up/1 down for my entire life up until 3 years ago. I simply decided I wanted a change, a beautiful kit became available on the forum and I went for it. For me it's just a way to approach my playing differently. Not rely on the same old fills. A fresh approach. I don't believe one is better than the other - just different.

Johnny K

Reaction score
I play 2 up two 2 down or 1 up 1 down. I was playing one up two down until i got a double tom stand. I like my ride cymbal were the 2nd tom would go on a traditional 2 up 1 down set up. There are no rules. You will find what works best for what you like to play and will set up accordingly.

lrod1707

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
As everyone has already mentioned, their are no rules or right or wrong. It's a matter of whatever feels right for you and how many pieces you need or want. I use 4 up and 2 down. Started over 30 years ago with a 5 piece and expanded out of want. I like having a big kit so I adapted my ergonomics as time went on.

AtlantaDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
Both! Two up is always a tighter setup, but also makes ride positioning a little more tricky.

Sometimes, space is an issue where that 2nd floor tom might be too much. If it’s more of a rock thing, then multiple floors can be nice.

sillypilot

Reaction score