Unbelievable !- Paiste PST7 vs. Paiste 2002

drumsforme

Reaction score
Stopped off to see a friend's band after my gig this Friday, and after playing my gig with my usual Paiste Red Label 2002 cymbals- medium crashes...I got to hear and then sit in for two tunes with my buddy's Paiste PST7 cymbals- Heavy series, and I know threads have been published here before about these but the similarities between the two are just hard to believe. The 16 & 18 Heavy PST7 crashes sounded almost exactly like the medium 2002 crashes. I went outside and got my 18" 2002 during break and put it next to the equivalent PS7 18" crash and I couldn't believe my ears....and I have been gigging for close to 40 years.
. Any thoughts on this?

tris66

Reaction score
Yeah, they sound only slightly less refined to my ears. Killer pies for the price.

Tama CW

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Probably best cymbal bang for the buck in used Paiste's. A 16-18-20 + hat set recently sold on Ebay for under $200. Bonzoleum had a video on the pro's of the PST7 crashes....especially the 18" thin PST7. That one sounds incredibly like an 18" sound formula or signature. But when you really focus, you can hear the additional shimmer and overtones of the higher end cymbals. They just ring forever. The PST7's go away quicker. My ideal set of PST 7's would be thin 18" and thin 20" for both ride/crash duties. The PST7's are great intermediate cymbals....and far ahead of the more tinny PST3's and 5's.....just great for crashes.

If you go the Paiste web site, there are sound files to compare all their lines up against each other. Very informative.

NYFrank

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I have some PST5's - not crashes, but a ride and hats. I think both are very good, and amazing for the money.
Everything I have hard on the 7's leads me to believe they are a great deal. My only nit negative is I'm not a fan of the red ink. Wish they wouldn't have done that.