Vintage Ludwig date code Q......

KCDrumDad

Very well Known Member
Reaction score

I have been gathering information for several years about Date Codes. I can tell you that they were used in the 1971-72 time period.

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
It's not a paper tag. Actually, I think I looked up the serial #58673 of the Standard drum and found the date code........thank you.

KCDrumDad

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I have conflicting information on that drum. I have it on one list as a December XX 1971 date per the owner (Facebook listing from August 2018 from "Ludwig Standard Drum") and also as Date Code 21717 (eBay listing bonzofan14-26 in a 2017 auction).
Is the 12717 stamped on your drum directly?

Last edited:

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
KC: It's a hot mess - 8 lug "jazz fest" type. No wrap (removed and a bad paint job!), has a white interior with no date stamp (or paper label), 8 chrome bow ties (with modern screws w/out cups), a P85 black face (2 holes on bottom), a P83 block logo (missing the back bar/screws), it has 2 extra holes (someone added a Luddy bracket?), missing the muffler, aftermarket COS hoops, and the Standard badge was reapplied. For what I paid, it was a deal in parts alone and I can make it something. It does sound good.

Other than the 2 holes, the shell looks good - it needs slight work. Obviously, the outside is painful, but I will strip the paint tonight to see what I have to work with but it's definitely a mahogany outer as it is visible. I would hate to cover that up so I am not sure what color direction I will go.....I'll post pics later but it is scary compared to what you posted!.....thank you.

K.O.

DFO Master
Reaction score
A mess right now, but that drum is a Jazz Fest just waiting to happen.

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score