what drum wrap do ludwig factories today use?

bon viesta

Reaction score
i’m guessing delmar drum wraps, but i’m not totally sure. surprisingly haven’t found a single thread asking this question. also does gretsch use the same delmar wraps, you know when it comes to pearls and sparkles and everything?

Reaction score
Their website lists both Ludwig and Gretsch as "Our Happy Clients", so they at least use some of their products. There's every possibility that Ludwig sources specific finishes elsewhere, but I have zero knowledge of the drum wrap industry.

K.O.

DFO Star
Reaction score
Pretty sure Delmar is the only place you can get traditional drum wrap, at least in the USA. Even at that the pearl part of those laminates come from Italy.

At one time there were multiple suppliers, including DuPont and Monsanto. Bill Ludwig mentions in his autobiography that when these big chemical concerns dropped those product lines in the late 1970s Ludwig was forced to buy from the one remaining supplier (It was not Delmar) and that product was prone to shrinkage which led to the infamous solution of riveting the wrap seams.

Last edited:

gmiller598

Reaction score
Does Delmar sell to individuals or only companies? I'd like to consider adding a left side floor tom to my set but I'm not sure I want to spend the money on a matching classic maple. Just curious if I ever found a good floor tom at a cheap price if it would be worth having it recovered in the matching blue sparkle finish.

bellbrass

DFO Star
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does Delmar sell to individuals or only companies? I'd like to consider adding a left side floor tom to my set but I'm not sure I want to spend the money on a matching classic maple. Just curious if I ever found a good floor tom at a cheap price if it would be worth having it recovered in the matching blue sparkle finish.