WHAT I'VE LEARNED FROM SOUL VACCINATION

NickSchles

Reaction score
OK, so I'm pretty chuffed with myself because I've done a drum cover of Soul Vaccination by Tower Of Power.

I've been studying David Garibaldi's playing for a few months now, and I find it's doing my playing a lot of good. All the way from time and feel, to technique and coordination, and creativity!

In fact, I've done a couple of blog posts with some of the lessons discussing certain aspects, both technical and creative with some of the grooves.

BLOG 1: TECHNICAL
https://nickschlesinger.com/soul-vaccination-drum-grooves

BLOG 2: CREATIVE
https://nickschlesinger.com/funk-drum-beats

Anyhow, I wanted to share the cover with y'all if you're interested. It took me a month and a bit to learn, and 6 takes to get it in one go.

THE COVER
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6QcQ8aTTDo

Enjoy my concentration face playing Soul Vaccination. Next stop: Squib Cakes!

Have you guys been learning Tower Of Power stuff? Would love to see some cover! :)

Matched Gripper

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
OK, so I'm pretty chuffed with myself because I've done a drum cover of Soul Vaccination by Tower Of Power.

I've been studying David Garibaldi's playing for a few months now, and I find it's doing my playing a lot of good. All the way from time and feel, to technique and coordination, and creativity!

In fact, I've done a couple of blog posts with some of the lessons discussing certain aspects, both technical and creative with some of the grooves.

BLOG 1: TECHNICAL
https://nickschlesinger.com/soul-vaccination-drum-grooves

BLOG 2: CREATIVE
https://nickschlesinger.com/funk-drum-beats

Anyhow, I wanted to share the cover with y'all if you're interested. It took me a month and a bit to learn, and 6 takes to get it in one go.

THE COVER
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6QcQ8aTTDo

Enjoy my concentration face playing Soul Vaccination. Next stop: Squib Cakes!